The Second Battle of Ypres

£20.00

Battlefield Guide – Miachel Salmon

Tour Manager – Richard Yorke

Scheduled For – Sunday 4th July.

April 1915… the Western Front had stagnated into trench warfare and the British Expeditionary Force (BEF) now stood shoulder-to-shoulder with the French Army facing the Germans in a precarious defensive salient to the east of the Belgian city of Ypres. Both sides now sought ways to break through their opponents’ defences and it was here on the 22nd April 1915, that the Germans shocked the world by releasing chlorine gas on an industrial scale against Allied troops who were totally unprotected. Despite the devastating initial effect, the Germans failed to exploit this surprise use of chemical weapons and the Second Battle of Ypres descended into a desperate, month-long struggle which cost the lives of over 100,000 men. This virtual tour will take you back to the areas where the battle initially developed, bring alive British, Canadian and French efforts to fight and survive under this this new and deadly form of warfare in key areas such as Kitchener’s Wood, St. Julien and Hill 60, whilst also allowing you to see how casualties would have been taken back through places like Essex Farm and Brandhoek during a medical evacuation chain.

Clear
SKU: N/A Category:

Additional information

Time

Sun 4th July 16:30 UK (11:30 EDT), Sun 4th July 19:30 UK (14:30 EDT)