Stalingrad

£20.00

Battlefield Guide – Matthias Strohn

Tour Manager – Joseph Castle

Scheduled For – Sunday 23rd May.

The battle of Stalingrad in 1942 /43 is probably the most famous battle of the Second World War. For over five months, German and Soviet troops fought fiercely for the control of the city that bore the name of the Soviet dictator. The encirclement and subsequent defeat of the German troops in the pocket has often been described as the real turning point of the war. In this ‘Rattenkrieg’ (war of rats), as the Germans called the fighting in Stalingrad, the struggle for the control of the Mamayev Kurgan hill was of particular importance, as this hill offered perfect views over the entire city. It is therefore not astonishing that the hill was one of the main objectives in the first phase of the battle when the Germans attacked the city. Both sides understood the importance of the hill and the fighting was extremely fierce.  The virtual tour will analyse the importance of the hill within the context of the battle of Stalingrad and will explain the German attacks and Soviet counter-measures in this vital part of the Stalingrad battlefield.

Clear
SKU: N/A Category:

Additional information

Time

Sun 23rd May 16:30 UK (11:30 EDT), Sun 23rd May 19:30 UK (14:30 EDT)