On Demand Tour: Beaumont Hamel – The Somme – 1st July 1916

Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 2 reviews)

USD$10.64

Title: Beaumont Hamel – The Somme – 1st July 1916

Battlefield Guide: Simon Bendry

Tour Manager: Dan Hill

Tour length about 75 min

All purchased tours are viewed through your account

Currency:
United States dollar ($) - USD
  • Pound sterling (£) - GBP
  • United States dollar ($) - USD
  • Euro (€) - EUR
  • Australian dollar ($) - AUD
  • Canadian dollar ($) - CAD
  • New Zealand dollar ($) - NZD

Description

The 1st July 1916 stands alone as the single most deadly day in the modern history of the British Army. On that infamous day over a 15-mile front, approximately 120,000 men launched an assault on the well-entrenched German defences opposite their own positions. Beginning their advance at 7.30am in bright sunshine, many were met by a deadly combination of unbroken barbed wire and withering machine-gun fire. By the end of that day almost 50% of the attackers had become casualties, over 19,000 of whom would make the ultimate sacrifice.

This Virtual Tour will transport you to the battlefields of the Somme and the outskirts of Beaumont Hamel to follow the fortunes of just one of those the Battalions – the 1st Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

 

Additional information

Time

Sun 3rd Jan 19:30 UK (14:30 EST), Sun 3rd Jan 22:30 UK (17:30 EST)

2 reviews for On Demand Tour: Beaumont Hamel – The Somme – 1st July 1916

Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 2 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

 

Rated 5 out of 5
December 8, 2021

Well researched with brilliant visuals and participant accounts.

Avatar for hooperto514@gmail.com
hooperto514@gmail.com
Rated 5 out of 5
October 29, 2021

So interesting. Really helped with a mix of personal detail and over-arching scale to give the picture of one sector of a dreadful day.

Avatar for Andrew Robb
Andrew Robb
(verified owner)