Le Cateau

£20.00

Battlefield Guide – Spencer Jones

Tour Manager – Dan Hill

Scheduled For – Sunday 16th May.

In August 1914 the British Army found itself in grave danger. Recoiling from the overwhelming strength of the German invasion of Belgium, British I Corps and II Corps became separated from one another during the Retreat from Mons. The Germans, scenting blood, focused their attention on chasing down II Corps, believing it represented the entire British Expeditionary Force. By 26 August, II Corps was in danger of being caught and overwhelmed. There was only one other option: to turn and fight. The stage was set for the Battle of Le Cateau. This virtual tour will focus on the actions of British 5th Division which held the right of the line. The tour will tell the story of the intense fighting here, including the dogged defence of the 2nd Suffolks and the heroism and sacrifice of the Royal Artillery.

Clear
SKU: N/A Category:

Additional information

Time

Sun 16th May 16:30 UK (11:30 EDT), Sun 16th May 19:30 UK (14:30 EDT)