Badajoz

£20.00

Battlefield Guide – Alex Owen

Tour Manager – Gareth Edwards

Scheduled For – Sunday 15th August.

In the Spring of 1812 Wellington’s Anglo-Portuguese army laid siege to the Spanish fortress city of Badajoz. Some 30,000 allied troops were to take on a garrison of 5,500 Frenchmen who were well led and standing behind some of the most formidable walls of the Napoleonic era. Over the course of a decade of conflict, both sides had perfected ways to hold and siege strongholds; making the maiming and killing of men an art form. Engineering science and the evolution of artillery combined to create one of the most brutal, bloody and dramatic chapters of the Peninsula Wars. But after the walls were breached and the guns had stopped firing, the future of Wellington’s March into Spain would be settled by the bayonet. This tour will follow those men, and their accounts, as they toiled below the bastions of Badajoz, living and working in sodden trenches for weeks before finally being thrown into the breaches.

Clear
SKU: N/A Category:

Additional information

Time

Sun 15th Aug 16:30 UK (11:30 EDT), Sun 15th Aug 19:30 UK (14:30 EDT)